Found Furniture

Trash or treasure?

Are you seriously freaking cheep if you take someone else’s throw away furniture, or are you a savvy person?

And I don’t mean your friend giving you their furniture, I mean some unknown person’s throw away.

Here’s what I did:

I was having a stressed out day last week, so I was in a weird mood as I finally walked into my building. I was hot and scrubby and wearing my rattiest gym clothes. As I walked by the trash room I saw this bookcase. A nice tall bookcase. Since I live in not-the-nicest building, when people move out they have a tendency to just dump any furniture they don’t want anymore.

Normally I ignore this.

This night, I did not.

After dumping my bags, I went back and dragged this, unexpectidly heavy, bookcase into my room. I put it in the free space in my room and stood back.

It was bad. I have a very specific color wood bedroom set, the bookcase was far too red. I sat in the floor and stared at it. Then, the restless bad-dayness that had a hold of me, prompted me to go find the leftover wall paint from my room. Now if I’d followed propper HGTV procedure I would have taken it apart, sanded it, primed it and painted it. Yeaaaaaaaa I don’t think so.

I found a bit of sandpaper, took a few swipes and started painting.

I only painted the parts that showed.

That’s right, I didn’t even move it away from the wall.

So I now have a haphazardly painted bookcase, that can never be moved from it’s current position. And it’s a used bookcase.

So what about you, ever ‘acquire’ furniture?

3 thoughts on “Found Furniture

  1. all the time. one woman’s trash is another woman’s treasure, def. the best desk chair i’ve ever owned is an old wooden rolly thing i rescued from the garbage pile of the house across from work. we were short a desk chair, and when i saw it, i decided not to wait for maintenance to show up with one. when i left the job, the chair came with me. its old, worn smooth wood, tilts back too far, and i adore it.

  2. You’re chair sounds awesome. Something like a couch might be gross, as you never know what’s in, or on, there, but I think we can hold on to our ‘classy’ ratings with chairs and bookcases.

Leave a Reply

