Poetry of Ben Harper

I spent the weekend getting a contact high and the Sunset Junction street fair. The headliner last night was Ben Harper.

I love Ber Harper in ways that are entirely inappropriate considering I’ve never met him. The message in his music is just amazing, and some of his slow, solo stuff speaks to me in ways I cannot even explain. So for my post of offer you poetry from a musician who sings to my soul.

WAITING ON AN ANGEL

WATCH AND LISTEN

Waiting On An Angel

Written by: Ben Harper

waiting on an angel
one to carry me home
hope you come to see me soon
cause i don’t want to go alone
i don’t want to go alone

now angel won’t you come by me
angel hear my plea
take my hand lift me up
so that i can fly with thee
so that i can fly with thee

and i’m waiting on an angel
and i know it won’t be long
to find myself a resting place
in my angel’s arms
in my angel’s arms

so speak kind to a stranger
cause you’ll never know
it just might be an angel come
knockin’ at your door
knockin’ at your door

and i’m waiting on an angel
and i know it won’t be long
to find myself a resting place
in my angel’s arms
in my angel’s arms

waiting on an angel
one to carry me home
hope you come and see me soon
cause i don’t want to go alone
i don’t want to go alone
don’t want to go
i don’t want to go alone

14 thoughts on “Poetry of Ben Harper

  1. I had to get check him out on You Tube.

    He is awesome. I liked him singing withe Eddie Veder.

    I love that cover as well. Not sure if my comment went thru or not.

  2. Hello everyone!

    Thanks for stopping by. I didn’t do a good job of making this clear but if you click on the words watch and listen you can see a video of him singing this song.

    He and his band (the Innocent Criminals) are also from LA, from the Sunset Junction/Silverlake area, so they get a lot of support as the hometown boys who made good but stayed true to their roots.

  3. i meant LILA! damn. i told you it was a long ass day! just getting off work now and i have fumble fingers. i SWEAR I know who i was talking to. gah. shoot me.

Leave a Reply

