Monday Poetry – Tribute to L’Engle

My first assignment for grad school was to type up two pages from a “Literary Treasure” and bring them into class. I spent HOURS thinking about what to bring. My first inclination was to pick something from War and Peace or Crime and Punishment, but then I decided not to lie to myself or pretend something I didn’t feel, so I chose the first few pages of A Wrinkle in Time. I ended up re-reading the whole series.

swiftly-5-big.jpgswiftly-5-big.jpgIn A Swiftly Tilting Planet, there is a poem that I still remember all the words to. I love this poem.

“With Tara in this fateful hour
I place all heaven with its power,
And the sun with its brightness,
And the snow with its whiteness,
And the fire with all the strength it hath,
And the lightning with its rapid wrath,
And the sea with its deepness,
And the rocks with their steepness,
And the earth with its starkness,
All these I place
By God’s almighty help and grace
Between myself and the powers of darkness.”
~M. L’Engle

What poems touched you as a child?

 MORE POETRY

11 thoughts on “Monday Poetry – Tribute to L’Engle

  1. Wow! I’m just so not literary minded I guess. I think the Scarlet Pimpernel is about as close to a ‘classic’ as I’ve ever read.

    A poem that has really stuck with me is Warning by Jenny Joseph. It just spoke to something inside me and judging from it’s popularity, a lot of other people too.

  2. Rhet- I, uh, hope you mean in an inspirational was as opposed to a creepy, child-molestor way.

    Ange- Considering the prevalence of the red hat society I think you are right, and I love that poem too.

    Shel Silverstein was great, Susan, I think his writing opened literary doors for a lot of kids.

    Charlene – Custard the cowardly lion! That’s a great poem, I haven’t read it in years. Thanks for making me remember it.

  3. Can one consider all of Dr. Seuss as poetry?
    ‘I would not like them
    here or there.
    I would not like them
    anywhere.
    I do not like
    green eggs and ham.
    I do not like them,
    Sam-I-am.’

  4. There are too many poems I remember which made a difference but I can’t forget ever is “The Spider And The Fly by Mary Howitt (1799-1888).”

    Who can forget the words:

    “Will you walk into my parlor?” said the spider to the fly;
    “‘Tis the prettiest little parlor that ever you may spy.
    The way into my parlor is up a winding stair,
    And I have many curious things to show when you are there.”
    “Oh no, no,” said the little fly; “to ask me is in vain,
    For who goes up your winding stair can ne’er come down again.”
    and so on..

    BTW, I love that poem you posted.

  5. Probably not technically ‘poetry’, but this was my favourite nursery rhyme when I was a child. I haven’t seen it written anywhere in years, but I still remember all the words:

    Bobby Shafto’s gone to sea,
    Silver buckles on his knee.
    He’ll come back and marry me,
    Bonny Bobby Shafto.

    Bobby Shafto’s fat and fair,
    Combing down his auburn hair.
    He’s my love for ever more,
    Bonny Bobby Shafto.

    🙂

  6. Julia- I absolutely think Dr. S counts. The lorax is what started me down a path that had lead to a Greenpeace membership.

    Gautami- I’m glad you like it. I’d never herd the actual rhym that went with the spider’s parlor saying.

    Kate- Ohhh so you were slutalicious when you were young too. Explains everything. 🙂

    Rhi- Ohhh new bookies! Thanks for the link!

    Ann- Aren’t the books great. I always wonder what would have happened, how we would be different, it we hadn’t read some of the things we had, as children.

Leave a Reply

