Monday Poetry

More than ever now I want you with me.
Each day lays waste the day that came before.
Remembering the home that your heart gives me
Restores the peace that, lost, torments me more.
Yet we must be apart this day of joy,
Close in spirit, far apart in flesh,
Happy in a hope time can’t destroy
Replenished by a sorrow ever fresh.
In us there is a glory from afar
So precious no brief moment of despair
That rises up can match that eastern star,
Miracle it is our gift to share.
As all our joy is cause for all our pain,
So when I’m home all will be joy again.

Copyright by
Nicholas Gordon

6 thoughts on “Monday Poetry

  1. ‘Remembering the home that your heart gives me
    Restores the peace that, lost, torments me more.’

    Loved these lines especially. Thanks for posting this – I hadn’t encountered it before and really like it.

Leave a Reply

